dbx® User's Group

dbx® User's Group

Flexibility, Speed and Sonic Perfection.
 
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 2:33 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Connecting my new DBX Driverack PA
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
Ok, I am a little intimidated. I just got my DBX Driverack P.A. I am somewhat of a novice at this and would like some help connecting this sucker. I am using this for a live band and I need to hook up one sub (mono) two double 15 inch cabs(Stereo), two single 15 inch cabs(Stereo), and stage wedge/floor monitors (mono.)

I noticed there are six XLR outs, and I really only need five because of the two mono singals (Sub and Monitors) My question is, can I use this as a 2X5 and run the monitors and sub off the left/right low?

I am really afraid of blowing something up :( How should I hook up all my speakers?

Thanks very much for your help!
Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 3305
You could \"force\" that into the PA, but the results would not be what you want and very impractical. Trying to set that up would eliminate many of the features that you bought the PA for. My recommendation would be to return the PA for a 260 (will do everything that you want except run stereo). If you must run stereo you have three options: 1. (Best) Buy a 260 for house and keep the PA for monitors. 2. (Good) Buy another PA and use one for house and one monitors. 3. Use the PA for house and put an EQ on the monitors.

DRA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks for the reply. I may just run the monitors directly out of the board using an AUX send, through a feedback eliminator, then into an amp. You would suggest an EQ though?

As far as the other connections, am I correct in taking the right and left out of the board, into the R/L input on the DBX, then the stereo outs on the highs and mids, and a mono out for the subs?

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 3305
I would definately put a 31 band EQ on your monitor output as well. You'll have more tonal control plus additional feedback control.

You'll need to set up a 2 x 3 or a 2 x 5. It depends on what you intend to do with your 2 sets of different top cabs. For example, using the dual 15's as mains and the singles as outer or inner fills.
Regardless, I would suggest setting a 2 x 5. This will allow you to set limiters / delays / PEQ's / and output level for each set of speakers. Hi L & R to the duals , Mid L & R to the singles, and lo / mono to the sub(s). Cross the Hi & Lo as usual between 80 & 100 (pretend the mid outs don't exist). Set the mids up as you wish. You have several possibilities. Duplicate the dual settings. Compress the bandwidth to cover only the vocal range. ETC
These are only a few of the total set-up options. Too many to attempt here.
And yes L/R out of board to L/R in on DRPA.

Also, you said that you have 1 sub. If that is the case, you'll need to move the crossover much lower and maybe run the tops full range. Unless that's one honk'n killer sub, it'll never be able to fill in what the 4 (6) 15's could do.

DRA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
Well the sub is a dual 18 yamaha cab that I push with a bridged mono QSC 2450. I just always thought that the sub should only have the lows sent through it.

Let me ask you this, is the PA set-up wizard going to guide me through all this, or should I seek the help of an audio pro? I dont want to blow anything up!

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 3305
What are the tops cabs that you using?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
The tops are no-name cabs with Eminence Delta 15\" and a single horn. The bottoms are same speakers only dual 15\" and a horn, and the sub is a dual Yamaha 18\"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 3305
Do you have an RTA mic? You really need to do a lot of testing to find out what the cabs low end limits are, before you can go very much further. If you don't have or can't get a mic, do you have a pink noise generator or a CD? Set the DRPA to a 2 x 5 crossover. Connect 1 dual 15 cab to the mid output. Set the mid crossover point for lows to about 150 and the mid hi point to 200. Set the the slopes to LR24 Send the noise to the speaker. Scroll the low crossover point down listening for lack of additional content. When you think that you've reach as low as the speaker is going, start lowering the hi side down until the output starts to drop. Hopefully the two points you just came up with are pretty close to each other. You are now in the vacinity of the usable low limit of the cab. Make a note of this point. Now do the single 15. My guess is somewhere between 50 & 70 is what you'll find.
With two 18's trying to keep up with six 15's, your crossover point will need to be lower than normal (80-90 for 15's). Let the top cabs do all they'll comfortably do and let the 18's handle the extremely low content. That may mean crossing closer to 60.
This a hard way to do it, hopefully you have the mic and can use the Auto EQ function outdoors and it will tell you what your cabs can do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
I bought a AUDIX RTA mic with the Driverack PA. (Thank goodness) Since I have one, I can just use the auto eq no?

Also, can I just purchase a Pink Noise CD or download one on line to generate the pink noise?

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 3305
Lucky you.
The DRPA had a pink noise generator built in. You don't even have to hook up the mixer to do the tests. However, if you want a CD with pink noise and a lot more audio tools, click on \"Former Forum\" above and search \"Binks\". The first post from Lee has a link. Go there and download the CD.

Yes, auto EQ. Set up 1 cab outside, away from reflective surfaces with the mic 6-8 ft from the speaker. Point the mic between the horn and the top 15 (on the dual). Set the wizard to Flat / Med precision and follow the prompts. don't clip the input (it will tell you if you do). The EQ plot will help you see the response of the speaker. Use this to set the best place to set your crossover point. You can go back later and tune the speakers with the PEQ's.

DRA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
Dra you are THE MAN!!!! Thanks so much for your help. I will do all this next weekend. I am less intimidated now and I just wanted so say thanks for taking all the time to help me out.

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 3305
Let me know how it goes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
Ok, I must be doing something wrong. I followed your directions to auto EQ, but the process stops about half way through. After about 3 minutes, the pink noise shuts off and the screen says \"Auto EQ not done.\" Where am I going wrong?

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:11 pm
Posts: 3305
Have you tried low precision? If not, do.

What specifically have you done?

Do you watch the screen? What is happening (band wise)?

Have you checked the mic? Hook it up to your board and while someone else speaks into it you listen through headphones. Do they sound \"normal\"? I had a mic go bad and auto EQ went haywire (I didn't let it finish).

DRA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:41 pm
Posts: 15
Ok, I got it to complete the auto eq by using low precision. The more I learn about the DRPA, the more I am starting to like it.

What is the next step? I completed the wizard and stored my custom 2x5 set up, now what?

Right now the dual 15's are working great, but the single 15's are only letting thru highs. They sound horrible. I assume that is because I told the DRPA that I have bi-amped speakers (Thats the only way I could set it up as a 2x5) so its only letting the high's through to that set. Can I tweak each set of speakers? Or, should I just abandon those single 15's altogether and use only the dual 15's as my mains?

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL